Shivam's sanctuary

Dumb questions are important

Story time

Today, I was on a call with senior engineers discussing topics I had never heard of before. After about 30-40 minutes, the manager said, "If anyone has any suggestions, let's discuss them now." I said, "Hey, I don't have any suggestions, but what was everyone talking about?"

By the way, I have a habit of writing down things I don’t know whenever I am on a call with teammates, friends, or anyone else. So, I mentioned that I understood these 2-3 things, but I couldn’t grasp anything else. My manager, who is very knowledgeable, then went on to briefly explain those concepts to me and helped me understand their significance for our project.

This habit of asking "dumb" and seemingly silly questions is new for me, and I am still practicing it. But what I have found is that people would rather work with someone who seeks help quickly than with someone who never asks anything. Additionally, I’ve noticed that very smart individuals are more likely to not judge you when you are just starting out.

Why ask dumb questions ?

  1. Asking questions makes you sharper and smarter. "Dumb" questions often cut through complex jargon, forcing explanations to be clear and straightforward.
  2. You should prioritise curiosity over the fear of appearing ignorant. Ask questions without hesitation. When more people ask questions, it creates an environment of learning and growth.
  3. Asking dumb questions helps clear out false assumptions and fills gaps in knowledge.

Don’t worry about whether people might think you’re stupid for asking questions, you are but who cares they are stupid as well.
The fact of the matter is that only one thing matters which is you should always be willing to learn.